The Dr No Cast

Dr No Cast

Sean Connery

Sean Connery as James Bond

Jospeh Wiseman who played Dr Julius No

Joseph Wiseman as Dr. Julis No

Honey Ryder in Dr. No

Ursula Andress as Honey Ryder

Sylvia Trench was the first Bond girl

Eunice Gayson as Sylvia Trench

Lois Maxwell as Miss Moneypenny

Lois Maxwell as Miss Moneypenny

Jack lord as Felix Leiter

Jack Lord as Felix Leister

Peter Burton as Major Boothroyd, Q

Peter Burton as Major Boothroyd

John Kitzmiller as Quarrel

John Kitzmiller as Quarrel

Anthony Dawson as Professor Dent

Anthony Dawson as Professor Dent

Zena Marshall as Miss Taro

Zena Marshall as Miss Taro

Yvonne Shima as Sister Lily

Yvonne Shima as Sister Lily

The Dr No Cast

The Dr No cast was led by Sean Connery as James Bond and also featured Ursula Andress as Bond girl Honey Ryder, with Joseph Wiseman cast as the first Bond villain. It was the start of a six decade long (so far) movie series that has grown in popularity.

Dr. No is a classic James Bond film that was released in 1962 and is the first film in the James Bond series. The film was directed by Terence Young and starred Sean Connery as James Bond. Dr. No was a critical and commercial success, and it established Connery as the definitive James Bond.

The Dr No cast also featured Ursula Andress as iconic Bond girl Honey Ryder. Andress was a Swiss actress who was relatively unknown at the time, but the scene where she walks out of the sea carrying two shells has gone down in cinematic history. And her performance in Dr. No launched her career, and she went on to global fame.

Other members of the Dr No cast include Joseph Wiseman as the villainous Dr. Julius No, a scientist who is trying to disrupt the American space program. Wiseman was highly praised for his part and set a high bar for future Bond villains.

Bernard Lee played M, Bond’s boss for the first of many times, and Peter Burton played Major Boothroyd, a character that was to become known as Q. Ian Fleming named the character after a Glaswegian firearms expert called Geoffrey Boothroyd,.

The Bond fan had written to Fleming about Bond’s use of the Beretta 418 pistols in the novels, suggesting it would be better for such an elevated role to use the Walther PPK. Grateful for the advice, Fleming started using the Walther PPK from the Dr No novel onwards.

Watch the documentary Inside Dr. No

Interestingly, the discussion Fleming had with Boothroyd is the same one Bond has with Major Boothroyd at the start of the movie when Bond is encouraged to swap his Beretta for the PPK.

Eunice Gayson, who was cast as Sylvia Trench, was supposed to become James Bond’s girlfriend and she was in the From Russia with Love cast. However, the idea of Bond having a steady girlfriend went against the direction they wanted to take Bond. Gayson was cast to play Miss Moneypenny, but she took on the role of Sylvia Trench instead.

Lois Maxwell starred as as Miss Moneypenny, a character that’s appeared in nearly every movie since. Initially Maxwell was supposed to take the role of Sylvia Trench, but she requested the Moneypenny role due to Trench’s saucier scenes, and so she became the legendary actress of Miss Moneypenny.

Dr. No also featured several other notable actors in smaller roles. The cast for these include Anthony Dawson as Professor Dent, Zena Marshall as Miss Taro an informant of Dr Julius No, who succumbs to 007’s charms. Jack Lord as Felix Leiter, Bond’s CIA contact, a character that is rperised frequently throughout the Bond series.

The film was shot on location in Jamaica and London, and the cinematography by Ted Moore is one of the highlights of the film. The film’s score was composed by Monty Norman, and it introduced the iconic James Bond theme that has been used in all of the subsequent Bond films.

Overall, the cast of Dr No is strong, with Sean Connery giving a memorable performance as James Bond and Ursula Andress making a lasting impression as Bond girl Honey Ryder. The supporting cast is also solid, with Joseph Wiseman playing the memorable villain Dr. Julius No and Jack Lord and Bernard Lee providing strong performances as Bond’s allies.

Watch the official trailer of Dr. No

Other members of Dr No Cast

Reginald Carter as Mr. Jones

Michel Mok as Sister Rose

Marguerite LeWars as Annabel Chung

Louis Blaazer as Pleydell-Smith

Timothy Moxon as John Strangways

Directed by Terence Young

Producers Harry Saltzman, Albert R. Broccoli

Screenplay by Richard Maibaum, Johanna Harwood, Berkely Mather

Based on Dr. No novel by Ian Fleming

Cinematography Ted Moore

Edited by Peter R. Hunt

Music by Monty Norman

Production company: Eon Productions

Distributed by United Artists

Release dates: 5 October 1962 (UK) 8 May 1963 (USA)

Budget $1.1 million

Box office $59.5 million